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1. Introduction. 

 In a final decision and order,1 the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Board (board):  

1) determined that appellant, Anchorage Midtown Motel, Inc. (AMM),2 had failed to 

                                        
1  In the Matter of the Petition for a Finding of the Failure to Insure Workers’ 

Compensation Liability and Assessment of a Civil Penalty Against Anchorage Midtown 
Motel, Inc., et al., Alaska Workers’ Comp. Bd. Dec. No. 11-0021 (Feb. 28, 
2011)(Anchorage Midtown Motel). 

2  Anchorage Midtown Motel, Inc. is a corporation in which Corey Millen has 
a 50 percent ownership interest and holds several offices and Kelly Millen has a 50 

             (footnote continued) 
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obtain and maintain workers’ compensation insurance coverage, as required by law, 

between February 2009 and May 2010;3 2) ordered AMM and the Millens to pay a civil 

penalty; and 3) ordered the Special Investigations Unit (SIU) of the Alaska Department 

of Labor and Workforce Development, to investigate, etc., whether there were other 

timeframes when AMM was not insured.4  AMM has appealed to the Alaska Workers’ 

Compensation Appeals Commission (commission), contesting certain aspects of the 

board’s decision and order.  We affirm the board in part, reverse the board in part, and 

remand to the board as more fully set forth below. 

2. Factual background and proceedings. 

 AMM was not insured for workers’ compensation liability between February 3, 

2009, and May 14, 2010, a period of 465 calendar days.5  It also did not provide 

evidence of compliance with workers’ compensation insurance requirements for the 

same time period.6  Thereafter, AMM obtained coverage at an estimated annual 

premium of $11,295, which equals $30.95 per day.7 

 According to the Millens, AMM is intended to serve as a rooming house, with five 

rooms per bathroom.8  Nevertheless, they describe it as a crack house frequented by 

                                                                                                                               
percent ownership interest and holds several offices.  See Anchorage Midtown Motel, 
Inc., Bd. Dec. No. 11-0021 at 2.  The board found that both Kelly Millen and Corey 
Millen had the authority to insure AMM for workers’ compensation liability and that Kelly 
Millen was the person actively in charge of the business.  See Anchorage Midtown 
Motel, Inc., Bd. Dec. No. 11-0021 at 8. 

3  See Anchorage Midtown Motel, Inc., Bd. Dec. No. 11-0021 at 3 and 6. 
4  See id. at 23 and 24.  Mark Lutz of SIU conducted the original 

investigation that led to the board’s decision and order that is the subject of this appeal.  
It appears there may have been other timeframes when AMM was not insured, see 
Anchorage Midtown Motel, Inc., Bd. Dec. No. 11-0021 at 3, 4, and 17.  However, they 
are not at issue here. 

5  See Anchorage Midtown Motel, Inc., Bd. Dec. No. 11-0021 at 3 and 6. 
6  See id. at 4. 
7  See id. 
8  See id. at 3. 
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prostitutes and drug dealers.9  Other than the maintenance man, many of the 

employees work part-time and there is high employee turnover.10  AMM employed a 

total of 39 workers at various times during the period it was not insured, February 3, 

2009, to May 14, 2010, and up to 15 employees at various times between February 28, 

2010, the effective date of 8 AAC 45.176,11 and May 14, 2010.12  Although there were 

no reported injuries during the February 3, 2009, to May 14, 2010, timeframe, two 

injuries were reported when AMM was insured for workers’ compensation liability.13  

The business is having financial problems and the Millens are trying to sell the facility.14  

They maintain they cannot afford to pay a civil penalty in any amount.15 

 The board held a hearing on February 2, 2011.  Based on the foregoing 

evidence, it calculated a civil penalty as follows.  First, for the timeframe from 

February 3, 2009, to February 27, 2010, before 8 AAC 45.176 went into effect, the 

board established a penalty rate of $57.92 per uninsured employee workday (of which 

there were 2,188), for a total of $126,728.96 ($57.92 X 2,188 = $126,728.96).16  

Second, for the timeframe between February 28, 2010, and May 14, 2010, applying 

criteria provided for in 8 AAC 45.176, the board set a penalty rate of $500 per 

uninsured employee workday (of which there were 442), for a total of $221,000 ($500 
                                        

9  See Anchorage Midtown Motel, Inc., Bd. Dec. No. 11-0021 at 3. 
10  See id.  Other employees worked as housekeepers, an expeditor who 

drove around obtaining supplies, a front desk clerk/manager, and a bookkeeper.  See 
id. at 5. 

11  This regulation, which provides criteria for the board to apply in assessing 
civil penalties when employers are uninsured, is quoted in its entirety infra. 

12  See Anchorage Midtown Motel, Inc., Bd. Dec. No. 11-0021 at 5.  
According to the division’s investigation, AMM accrued 2,630 uninsured employee 
workdays from February 3, 2009, to May 14, 2010, which included 442 uninsured 
employee workdays from February 28, 2010, to May 14, 2010. 

13  See Anchorage Midtown Motel, Inc., Bd. Dec. No. 11-0021 at 5. 
14  See id. at 7. 
15  See id. 
16  See id. at 20. 
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X 442 = $221,000).  The total civil penalty the board assessed was $347,728.96 

($126,728.96 + $221,000 = $347,728.96).17 

 In its decision, in relevant part, the board concluded: 

1)  AMM was subject to and in violation of AS 23.30.085(a) and (b) 

requiring that employers provide evidence of compliance with workers’ 

compensation insurance requirements from February 3, 2009, to May 14, 

2010;18 

2)  AMM was subject to and in violation of AS 23.30.075 from February 3, 

2009, to May 14, 2010, and subject to the penalties in AS 23.30.080 or 

8 AAC 45.176;19 and 

3)  AMM would be assessed a civil penalty for its failure to insure from 

February 3, 2009, to May 14, 2010, in the total amount of $347,728.96.20 

Also of relevance here, the board ordered: 

1)  the personal, joint, several, and direct liability of AMM, Kelly Millen, 

and Corey Millen, for compensable workers’ compensation claims arising 

between February 3, 2009, and May 14, 2010, pursuant to AS 23.30.06021 

and AS 23.30.075(b);22 

2)  the personal, joint, several, and direct liability of AMM, Kelly Millen, 

and Corey Millen, for the penalties provided for in AS 23.30.080;23 

                                        
17  See Anchorage Midtown Motel, Inc., Bd. Dec. No. 11-0021 at 20-21.  The 

basis for the board imposing two different penalty rates is explained infra. 
18  See Anchorage Midtown Motel, Inc., Bd. Dec. No. 11-0021 at 22. 
19  See id. 
20  See id. at 23. 
21  AS 23.30.060 provides a presumption that an employer elects to pay 

compensation directly if it fails to post a notice of insurance on its premises. 
22  See Anchorage Midtown Motel, Inc., Bd. Dec. No. 11-0021 at 23. 
23  See id. 
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3)  the personal, joint, several, and direct liability of AMM, Kelly Millen, 

and Corey Millen, for the civil penalty in the amount of $347,728.96;24 and 

4)  the personal, joint, several, and direct liability of AMM, Kelly Millen, 

and Corey Millen, for payment of the civil penalty within seven days of the 

board’s decision.25 

3. Standard of review. 

The commission must uphold the board’s findings of fact if supported by 

substantial evidence in light of the record as a whole.26  We exercise our independent 

judgment when reviewing questions of law and procedure.27  The question “whether 

the quantum of evidence is substantial enough to support a conclusion in the 

contemplation of a reasonable mind” is a question of law.28 

4. Discussion. 

a. Applicable law. 

 Certain sections of the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Act, AS 23.30.001 — .395, 

and a board regulation, 8 AAC 45.176, provide the legal framework for the board’s and 

our analysis in this matter.  They read, in relevant part, as follows: 

AS 23.30.070.  Report of injury to division. 

(a)  Within 10 days from the date the employer has knowledge of an 
injury or death or from the date the employer has knowledge of a disease 
or infection, alleged by the employee or on behalf of the employee to 
have arisen out of and in the course of the employment, the employer 
shall send to the division a report . . . . 

(b)  Additional reports with respect to the injury and to the condition of 
the employee shall be sent by the employer to the division at the times 
and in the manner that the director prescribes. 

                                        
24  See Anchorage Midtown Motel, Inc., Bd. Dec. No. 11-0021 at 23. 
25  See id. 
26  See AS 23.30.128(b). 
27  See id. 
28  Land & Marine Rental Co. v. Rawls, 686 P.2d 1187, 1188-89 (Alaska 1984) 

(citing Miller v. ITT Arctic Servs., 577 P.2d 1044, 1046 (Alaska 1978)). 
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. . . . 

(f)  An employer who fails or refuses to send a report required of the 
employer by this section or who fails or refuses to send the report 
required by (a) of this section within the time required shall, if so required 
by the board, pay the employee or the legal representative of the 
employee or other person entitled to compensation by reason of the 
employee’s injury or death an additional award equal to 20 percent of the 
amounts that were unpaid when due. The award shall be against either 
the employer or the insurance carrier, or both. 

AS 23.30.075.  Employer's liability to pay. 

(a)  An employer under this chapter, unless exempted, shall . . . insure 
and keep insured for the employer's liability under this chapter in an 
insurance company or association duly authorized to transact the business 
of workers' compensation insurance in this state . . . . 

(b)  If an employer fails to insure and keep insured employees subject to 
this chapter . . . , upon conviction, the court shall impose a fine of 
$10,000 and may impose a sentence of imprisonment for not more than 
one year. If an employer is a corporation, all persons who, at the time of 
the injury or death, had authority to insure the corporation or apply for a 
certificate of self-insurance, and the person actively in charge of the 
business of the corporation shall be subject to the penalties prescribed in 
this subsection and shall be personally, jointly, and severally liable 
together with the corporation for the payment of all compensation or 
other benefits for which the corporation is liable under this chapter if the 
corporation at that time is not insured . . . . 

AS 23.30.080.  Employer's failure to insure. 

 . . . . 

(f)  If an employer fails to insure or provide security as required by 
AS 23.30.075, the division may petition the board to assess a civil penalty 
of up to $1,000 for each employee for each day an employee is employed 
while the employer failed to insure or provide the security required by 
AS 23.30.075. The failure of an employer to file evidence of compliance as 
required by AS 23.30.085 creates a rebuttable presumption that the 
employer failed to insure or provide security as required by AS 23.30.075. 

 

AS 23.30.085.  Duty of employer to file evidence of compliance. 

(a)  An employer subject to this chapter, unless exempted, shall initially 
file evidence of compliance with the insurance provisions of this chapter 
with the division, in the form prescribed by the director. The employer 
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shall also give evidence of compliance within 10 days after the termination 
of the employer's insurance by expiration or cancellation. 

(b)  If an employer fails, refuses, or neglects to comply with the provision 
of this section, the employer shall be subject to the penalties provided in 
AS 23.30.070 for failure to report accidents; but nothing in this section 
may be construed to affect the rights conferred upon an injured employee 
or the employee’s beneficiaries under this chapter. 

8 AAC 45.176.  Failure to provide security: assessment of civil 
penalties. 

(a)  If the board finds an employer to have failed to provide security as 
required by AS 23.30.075, the employer is subject to a civil penalty under 
AS 23.30.080(f), determined as follows: 

(1)  if an employer has an inadvertent lapse in coverage, the civil 
penalty assessed under AS 23.30.080(f) for the employer's violation of 
AS 23.30.075 may be no more than the prorated premium the employer 
would have paid had the employer been in compliance with AS 23.30.075; 
the division shall consider a lapse in coverage of not more than 30 days to 
be inadvertent if the employer has changed carriers, ownership of the 
employer has changed, the form of business entity of the employer has 
change, the individual responsible for obtaining workers' compensation 
coverage for the employer has changed, or the board determines an 
unusual extenuating circumstance to qualify as an inadvertent lapse; 

(2)  if an employer has not previously violated AS 23.30.075, and is 
found not to have aggravating factors, and agrees to a stipulation of facts 
and executes a confession of judgment without action, without a board 
hearing, the employer will be assessed a civil penalty of two times the 
premium the employer would have paid had the employer complied with 
AS 23.30.075; 

(3)  if an employer has not previously violated AS 23.30.075, and is 
found to have no more than three aggravating factors, the employer will 
be assessed a civil penalty of no less than $10 and no more than $50 per 
uninsured employee workday; however, the civil penalty may not be less 
than two times the premium the employer would have paid had the 
employer complied with AS 23.30.075; without a board hearing, if an 
employer agrees to a stipulation of facts and executes a confession of 
judgment without action, the employer will be given a 25 percent discount 
of the assessed civil penalty; however, the discounted amount may not be 
less than any civil penalty that would be assessed under (2) of this 
subsection; 

(4)  if an employer is found to have no more than six aggravating 
factors, the employer will be assessed a civil penalty of no less than $51 
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and no more than $499 per uninsured employee workday; however, the 
civil penalty may not be less than two times the premium the employer 
would have paid had the employer complied with AS 23.30.075; without a 
board hearing, if an employer agrees to a stipulation of facts and executes 
a confession of judgment without action, the employer will be given a 25 
percent discount of the assessed civil penalty; however, the discounted 
amount may not be less than any civil penalty that would be assessed 
under (3) of this subsection; 

(5)  if an employer is found to have no fewer than seven and no more 
than 10 aggravating factors, the employer will be assessed a civil penalty 
of no less than $500 and no more than $999 per uninsured employee 
workday; however, the civil penalty may not be less than four times the 
premium the employer would have paid had the employer complied with 
AS 23.30.075; without a board hearing, if an employer agrees to a 
stipulation of facts and executes a confession of judgment without action, 
the employer will be given a 25 percent discount of the assessed civil 
penalty; however, the discounted amount may not be less than any civil 
penalty that would be assessed under (4) of this subsection; 

(6)  if an employer is found to have more than 10 aggravating factors, 
the employer will be assessed a civil penalty of $1,000 per uninsured 
employee workday.  

(b)  A civil penalty assessed under (a) of this section may not exceed the 
maximum civil penalty allowed under AS 23.30.080(f). 

 . . . . 

(d)  For the purposes of this section, “aggravating factors” include 

(1)  failure to obtain workers' compensation insurance within 10 days 
after the division's notification of a lack of workers' compensation 
insurance; 

(2)  failure to maintain workers' compensation insurance after previous 
notification by the division of a lack of coverage; 

(3)  a violation of AS 23.30.075 that exceeds 180 calendar days; 

(4)  previous violations of AS 23.30.075; 

(5)  issuance of a stop order by the board under AS 23.30.080(d), or 
the director under AS 23.30.080(e); 

(6) violation of a stop order issued by the board under 
AS 23.30.080(d), or the director under AS 23.30.080(e); 

(7)  failure to comply with the division's initial discovery demand within 
30 days after the demand; 
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(8)  failure to pay a penalty previously assessed by the board for 
violations of AS 23.30.075; 

(9)  failure to provide compensation or benefits payable under the Act 
to an uninsured injured employee; 

(10) a history of injuries or deaths sustained by one or more 
employees while employer was in violation of AS 23.30.075; 

(11)  a history of injuries or deaths while the employer was insured 
under AS 23.30.075; 

(12)  failure to appear at a hearing before the board after receiving 
proper notice under AS 23.30.110; 

(13)  cancellation of a workers' compensation insurance policy due to 
the employer's failure to comply with the carrier's requests or procedures; 

(14)  lapses in business practice that would be used by a reasonably 
diligent business person, including 

(A)  ignoring certified mail; 

(B)  failure to properly supervise employees; and 

(C) failure to gain a familiarity with laws affecting the use of 
employee labor; 

(15)  receipt of government funding of any form to obtain workers' 
compensation coverage under AS 23.30.075, and failure to provide that 
coverage. 

(e)  In this section, 

(1)  “premium” means the current amount charged to the employer by 
a carrier for coverage under AS 23.30.075; 

(2)  “uninsured employee workday” means the total hours of employee 
labor utilized by the employer while in violation of AS 23.30.075 divided by 
eight. 

b. The commission is not empowered to decide issues based on 
the application of constitutional law. 

 AS 23.30.080(f) and 8 AAC 45.176 provide for payment of civil penalties by 

employers in the form of fines, for failing to insure for workers’ compensation liability.29  

AMM argues that the civil penalties imposed on it by the board, pursuant to the 

foregoing statute and regulation, violate both the Eighth Amendment of the United 
                                        

29  See AS 23.30.080(f) and 8 AAC 45.176, supra. 



 10 Decision No. 159 

States Constitution and Art. I, section 12 of the Alaska Constitution.30  These 

constitutional provisions, among other things, prohibit the imposition of excessive fines. 

 Irrespective of any merit to this argument, we are unable to consider it in 

deciding this appeal.  As appellee, the State of Alaska, Division of Workers’ 

Compensation (Division) pointed out in its brief,31 we do not have that authority.  The 

commission is a “quasi-judicial agency” that was created and is controlled by statutes 

duly enacted for those purposes by the Alaska legislature in 2005.32  The Alaska 

Supreme Court has held that, as a quasi-judicial administrative agency, the commission 

has adjudicative power, but not judicial power.33  Its “jurisdiction is limited to ‘hearing 

and determination of all questions of law and fact’ arising under the Alaska Workers’ 

Compensation Act in matters that have been appealed to the Appeals Commission.”34  

However, as an administrative agency, the commission “do[es] not have jurisdiction to 

decide issues of constitutional law.”35  In a prior decision, we inferred from this 

pronouncement that the commission cannot decide issues involving the application of 

constitutional law principles.36 

c. Did the board err in ordering the personal, joint, and several 
liability of Kelly Millen and Corey Millen for the civil penalty it 
assessed? 

 The Alaska Supreme Court has held that “statutory or regulatory requirements 

must be strictly construed in favor of the accused before an alleged breach may give 

                                        
30  See Appellant’s Br. at 6-9. 
31  See Appellee’s Br. at 5-6. 
32  See Alaska Public Interest Research Group v. State, et al., 167 P.3d 27, 

34-38 (Alaska 2007)(AKPIRG). 
33  See id. at 35-36. 
34  Id. at 36 (quoting AS 23.30.008(a)). 
35  Id. at 36 (footnote omitted). 
36  See Rockstad v. Chugach Eareckson Support Services, Alaska Workers’ 

Comp. App. Comm’n Dec. No. 140, 27 (November 5, 2010). 
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rise to a civil penalty.”37  Under AS 23.30.080(f), the board can impose a civil penalty 

against an employer for failing to insure for workers’ compensation liability, as required 

by AS 23.30.075.  Pursuant to this subsection, the board assessed the civil penalty 

against AMM.38  There is no question that the board had the authority to do so.  

Whether the board had the authority to order the personal, joint, and several liability of 

Kelly Millen and Corey Millen is another matter.39  In answering this legal question, the 

commission applies its independent judgment. 

 The statute from which the board ostensibly derived the authority to order the 

personal liability of the Millens, AS 23.30.075(b), when strictly construed,40 does not 

provide that authority.  Paraphrased, the statute provides that, upon conviction for 

failing to insure and keep insured employees, a court shall impose a fine and may 

impose a sentence of imprisonment against an employer.  If the employer is a 

corporation, all persons at the time of the injury or death, who had authority to insure 

the corporation, and the person actively in charge of the business of the corporation, 

shall be subject to the penalties provided for in .075(b) and shall be personally, jointly, 

                                        
37  Alaska Public Offices Comm’n v. Stevens, 205 P.3d 321, 326 (Alaska 

2009)(footnote omitted). 
38  See Anchorage Midtown Motel, Inc., Bd. Dec. No. 11-0021 at 23. 
39  See id. 
40  See Larson v. Welker, WL 11657229 (Alaska 1991).  With respect to 

AS 23.30.075(b), in Larson, an unpublished, non-precedential decision, see Appellate 
Rule 214(d), the supreme court, adopting the superior court’s decision, stated: 

[W]orkers’ compensation statutes are considered remedial legislation, 
rather than penal, and legislative intent should be construed liberally to 
allow full recovery where possible.  The doctrine of strict construction, on 
the other hand, applies to statutes which impose penalties or “liabilities 
upon persons not primarily liable for injuries sustained.”  Sutherland Stat. 
Const. § 60.03 (4th ed.).  In this case, the statute[ is] both remedial and 
penal:  “A statute which extends a benefit to one person at the expense of 
another will be remedial to the former and penal to the latter.”  
Sutherland Stat. Const. § 60.03 (4th ed.).  Larson, WL 11657229 at 3. 
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and severally liable together with the corporation for the payment of all compensation 

or other benefits for which the corporation is liable.41 

 First, the board is not a court.  Like the commission, the board is a quasi-judicial 

agency.42  It has no criminal jurisdiction43 under which it may convict anyone or impose 

a fine or sentence of imprisonment.44  Second, even though the board found that both 

Kelly and Corey Millen had authority to insure AMM and that Kelly Millen was actively in 

charge of the business, the penalties provided for in AS 23.30.075(b) to which they 

might be subject consisted of a criminal fine in the amount of $10,000 and possible 

imprisonment.  Subsection .075(b) does not provide for imposition of a civil penalty 

against anyone.  Third, the subsection states that corporate officers can be personally 

liable for the compensation or benefits the corporation owes.  The board ordered 

payment of a civil penalty, payable to the Division.45  We do not consider the civil 

penalty owed the Division to be compensation or benefits and the Division is not an 

injured employee.  Fourth, there was evidence that no injuries were reported during the 

timeframe that AMM was uninsured for workers’ compensation liability, February 3, 

2009, to May 14, 2010.46  Under subsection .075(b), neither the penalties, nor the 

liability for compensation, can be imposed against individuals with authority to insure 

the corporation or in charge of its business unless an injury occurs in the timeframe the 

corporate employer is uninsured.47 

                                        
41  Cf. AS 23.30.075(b). 
42  See AKPIRG, 167 P.3d at 39-40. 
43  See generally AS 23.30.005. 
44  See AS 12.55.035(a), which provides that, upon conviction, a criminal 

defendant may be ordered to pay a fine as part of the sentence. 
45  See Anchorage Midtown Motel, Inc., Bd. Dec. No. 11-0021 at 23. 
46  See id. at 5. 
47  The absence of any injury distinguishes this matter from Larson, see n.40, 

supra, in which an injured employee was attempting to obtain compensation from 
corporate officers. 
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 The commission concludes that the board erred in ordering the personal, joint, 

several, and direct liability of Kelly Millen and Corey Millen for the civil penalty it 

assessed.  It appears that the board borrowed the “personal, joint, and several liability” 

language from AS 23.30.075(b) and combined it with the language in AS 23.30.080(f) 

providing for a civil penalty against an employer for failing to insure for workers’ 

compensation liability, impermissibly resulting in its imposition of personal liability on 

the Millens for the civil penalty.  According to our analysis, to do so is inconsistent with 

the strict construction of AS 23.30.075(b).48 

d. Did the board err in terms of its rulings in calculating the 
amount of the civil penalty it assessed? 

 This is an unusual appeal in that it may be the only one that will come before the 

commission in which 8 AAC 45.176 went into effect during the employer’s ongoing 

failure to provide workers’ compensation coverage.  This development caused the board 

to bifurcate its calculation of the civil penalty it imposed.  It applied the provision in 

AS 23.30.080(f) allowing it to assess a civil penalty of up to $1,000 for each employee 

workday in the 390 calendar days AMM was uninsured between February 3, 2009, and 

February 27, 2010.  From the effective date of 8 AAC 45.176, February 28, 2010, to 

May 14, 2010, a period of 75 calendar days, the board applied the provisions of sub-

subsections 8 AAC 45.176(a)(5) and .176(d)(1) – (15), which allow the board to assess 

a civil penalty of $500 to $999 for each employee workday AMM was not insured. 

 The board applied a penalty rate of $57.92 per uninsured employee workday for 

the pre-regulation timeframe in calculating the civil penalty for that period in the 

amount of $126,728.96.  We review this penalty rate in light of board49 and commission 

                                        
48  In its briefing, see Appellee’s Br. at 5, the Division concedes that the 

board erred in this respect.  However, we have set forth our reasoning on the point for 
board guidance in the future. 

49  See, e.g., In re Edwell John, Jr., Alaska Workers’ Comp. Bd. Dec. No. 06-
0059 (March 8, 2006); In re Hummingbird Services, Alaska Workers’ Comp. Bd. Dec. 
No. 07-0013 (January 26, 2007); In re Wrangell Seafoods, Inc., Alaska Workers’ Comp. 
Bd. Dec. No. 06-0055 (March 6, 2006); In re Absolute Fresh Seafoods, Inc., Alaska 

             (footnote continued) 
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decisions50 involving the imposition of civil penalties prior to 8 AAC 45.176 going into 

effect.  Citing Alaska R&C, in Ivan Moore, we noted: 

“[T]he board is granted broad discretion in determining the penalty under 
AS 23.30.080(f).”  A grant of broad discretion is not a grant of unfettered 
discretion.  The commission has held that “it is an abuse of the board’s 
discretion to impose a penalty that (1) does not serve the purposes of the 
statute, (2) does not reflect consideration of appropriate factors, (3) lacks 
substantial evidence to support findings regarding those factors, or (4) is 
so excessive or minimal as to shock the conscience.”51 

In a footnote to its decision in this matter,52 the board cited a number of pre-regulation 

decisions which, when having considered the circumstances of each case, the board 

ordered uninsured employers to pay a civil penalty varying between $0 to $1,000 per 

uninsured employee workday.  Although the board decided that the factors in 8 AAC 

45.176(d)(1) – (15) should not be applied retroactively to AMM’s pre-regulation 

conduct, nevertheless, the board found them to be “useful guides in determining the 

severity of the penalty during this period.”53  Accordingly, the significant factors in the 

board’s assessment of a penalty rate of $57.92 per uninsured employee workday were 

                                                                                                                               
Workers’ Comp. Bd. Dec. No. 07-0014 (January 30, 2007); In re Alaska Native 
Brotherhood #2, Alaska Workers’ Comp. Bd. Dec. No. 06-0113 (May 8, 2006); In re 
Alaska Sportfishing Adventures, LLC, Alaska Workers’ Comp. Bd. Dec. No. 07-0040 
(March 1, 2007); In re Rendezvous, Inc., Alaska Workers’ Comp. Bd. Dec. No. 07-0072 
(April 4, 2007); In re Corporate Chiropractic, Inc., Alaska Workers’ Comp. Bd. Dec. No. 
07-0098 (April 24, 2007). 

50  See Velderrain v. State, Division of Workers’ Comp., Alaska Workers’ 
Comp. App. Comm’n Dec. No. 083 (July 9, 2008); Alaska R&C Communications v. State, 
Division of Workers’ Comp., Alaska Workers’ Comp. App. Comm’n Dec. No. 088 
(September 16, 2008)(Alaska R&C); Ivan Moore d/b/a Ivan Moore Research v. State, 
Division of Workers’ Comp., Alaska Workers’ Comp. App. Comm’n Dec. No. 092 
(November 17, 2008)(Ivan Moore). 

51  Ivan Moore, App. Comm’n Dec. No. 092 at 13 (quoting Alaska R&C, App. 
Comm’n Dec. No. 088 at 22). 

52  See Anchorage Midtown Motel, Inc., Bd. Dec. No. 11-0021 at 12, n.1. 
53  Anchorage Midtown Motel, Inc., Bd. Dec. No. 11-0021 at 20. 



 15 Decision No. 159 

1) the length of time AMM had no workers’ compensation coverage, and 2) its history of 

being uninsured.54 

 We agree that the board used appropriate factors in assessing a civil penalty for 

the period AMM was uninsured between February 3, 2009, and February 27, 2010, in 

the amount of $126,728.96.  The commission acknowledges that this penalty is a 

substantial amount of money and, according to AMM, is one it cannot afford to pay.  On 

the other hand, we do not view the analytical process the board followed in assessing a 

civil penalty in this amount as flawed in any way or that it abused its discretion in ruling 

as it did. 

 The board applied a penalty rate of $500 per uninsured employee workday for 

the 75-day period the regulation was in effect and AMM was uninsured, calculating the 

civil penalty for that period in the amount of $221,000.  This penalty rate was set by 

the board pursuant to the provisions of 8 AAC 45.176.  That regulation is structured in 

such a way as to provide criteria, called “aggravating factors,”55 to be applied in 

determining the egregiousness of the employer’s conduct when calculating the amount 

of a civil penalty.  The criteria were adopted, at the commission’s urging,56 from board 

and commission decisions57 involving the imposition of civil penalties for failure to 

insure.  The board found that AMM had violated seven of the aggravating factors in 

8 AAC 45.176(d): 

(1)  failure to obtain workers' compensation insurance within 10 days 
after the division's notification of a lack of workers' compensation 
insurance; 

(2)  failure to maintain workers' compensation insurance after previous 
notification by the division of a lack of coverage; 

(3)  a violation of AS 23.30.075 that exceeds 180 calendar days; 

                                        
54  See Anchorage Midtown Motel, Inc., Bd. Dec. No. 11-0021 at 19. 
55  See 8 AAC 45.176(d)(1) – (15). 
56  See Ivan Moore, App. Comm’n Dec. No. 092 at 12-17. 
57  See n.49 and n.50, supra. 
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(4)  previous violations of AS 23.30.075; 

(7)  failure to comply with the division's initial discovery demand within 
30 days after the demand; 

(11)  a history of injuries or deaths while the employer was insured 
under AS 23.30.075; [and] 

(13)  cancellation of a workers' compensation insurance policy due to 
the employer's failure to comply with the carrier's requests or 
procedures[.]58 

As the ensuing discussion shows, the number of aggravating factors an employer has 

violated is an important consideration under the regulation.  The penalty rate increases 

with the number of aggravating factors violated.59 

 On appeal, AMM argued that it was unfair to take its pre-regulation conduct into 

account in determining whether it had violated a number of aggravating factors.60  For 

example, prior instances when AMM was not insured occurred between 2004 and 

2008.61  The Division countered that it was appropriate for the board to consider pre-

regulation conduct because, prior to the regulation, AS 23.30.080(f) allowed for a civil 

penalty of up to $1,000 per uninsured employee workday.62  Irrespective of these 

arguments, for two reasons, we conclude the board erred in assessing a civil penalty in 

the amount of $221,000 for the 75 days AMM was uninsured and subject to 8 AAC 

45.176. 

 First, of the seven aggravating factors the board identified as having been 

violated by AMM,63 the last, cancellation of a policy for failing to comply with the 

                                        
58  See Anchorage Midtown Motel, Inc., Bd. Dec. No. 11-0021 at 8-9. 
59  Cf. 8 AAC 45.176(a)(3) – (6). 
60  See Appellant’s Br. at 9-16.  A number of its arguments were based on 

due process grounds or the prohibition of ex post facto laws.  Again, the commission 
cannot consider constitutional issues.  See Part 4(b), supra. 

61  See Anchorage Midtown Motel, Inc., Bd. Dec. No. 11-0021 at 22. 
62  See generally Appellee’s Br. at 10-14. 
63  See Anchorage Midtown Motel, Inc., Bd. Dec. No. 11-0021 at 8-9.  Our 

review of the board’s decision reveals that it made insufficient findings relative to an 

             (footnote continued) 
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insurer’s requests, was not supported by substantial evidence.64  Investigator Mark Lutz 

stated:  “. . . I reviewed the reasons for cancellation[.]  . . . They were nonpayment of 

premium.  There was never . . . a failure to comply with the insurance company’s audit, 

and on further review, I noticed that that hadn’t been the occasion.”65  According to 

Kelly Millen’s testimony, AMM could not obtain insurance because it had failed to pay for 

an audit by AMM’s former workers’ compensation carrier.66  Strictly construing 8 AAC 

45.176(d)(13), as we must,67 AMM’s workers’ compensation coverage was not cancelled 

for failing to pay for an audit or otherwise comply with the carrier’s requests.  New 

coverage could not be placed, which does not implicate the aggravating factor in 

question. 

 Concluding that this criterion is inapplicable is significant in terms of our analysis.  

It reduces the number of aggravating factors that AMM violated from seven68 to six.  

Under 8 AAC 45.176(a)(4), “if an employer is found to have no more than six 

aggravating factors, the employer will be assessed a civil penalty of no less than $51 

and no more than $499 per uninsured employee workday[.]”  Thus, AMM is subject to a 

civil penalty of $51 to $499 per uninsured employee workday. 

 Second, the penalty rate of $500 per uninsured employee workday was 

approximately nine times the penalty rate the board imposed for AMM’s pre-regulation 

conduct, $57.92, even though AMM’s conduct for which it was being penalized was not 

significantly different.  Having found that AMM had violated seven aggravating factors, 

the board may have felt constrained by the regulation to impose the civil penalty for the 

                                                                                                                               
eighth aggravating factor, corresponding to 8 AAC 45.176(d)(14), lapses in business 
practices, which was among the factors initially identified at the hearing as being at 
issue.  Feb. 2, 2011, Hr’g Tr. 12:9-17.  See also Appellant’s Exc. 064. 

64  See AS 23.30.128(b). 
65  Feb. 2, 2011, Hr’g Tr. 13:9-15. 
66  See Feb. 2, 2011, Hr’g Tr. 14:11−15:18 and 28:23-25. 
67  See discussion at 11, supra. 
68  See 8 AAC 45.176(a)(5). 
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February 28, 2010, to May 14, 2010, timeframe at the rate it did, namely $500 per 

uninsured employee workday.69  With one of the aggravating factors having been 

eliminated, the board may revisit the issue on remand and impose a civil penalty at the 

rate provided for in 8 AAC 45.176(a)(4), in conformity with this opinion. 

5. Conclusion. 

 We AFFIRM the board insofar as it assessed Anchorage Midtown Motel, Inc. a 

civil penalty for its pre-regulation failure to obtain and maintain workers’ compensation 

insurance coverage in the amount of $126,728.96.  We REVERSE the board’s order 

imposing personal, joint, and several liability on Kelly Millen and Corey Millen for 

payment of any part of the civil penalty it assessed in the amount of $347,728.26.  The 

commission VACATES the board’s order assessing Anchorage Midtown Motel, Inc. a civil 

penalty in the amount of $221,000 for its failure to insure between February 28, 2010, 

and May 14, 2010, and REMANDS the matter to the board to reassess the civil penalty 

it imposed for that timeframe.  The commission does not retain jurisdiction. 

Date: 14 February 2012            ALASKA WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS COMMISSION 
 

 

 

 

 

Signed 
David W. Richards, Appeals Commissioner 

Signed 
Philip E. Ulmer, Appeals Commissioner 

Signed 
Laurence Keyes, Chair 

                                        
69  As the commission stated in Ivan Moore, “it is an abuse of the board’s 

discretion to impose a penalty that . . . is so excessive[.]”  Ivan Moore, App. Comm’n 
Dec. No. 092 at 13 (quoting Alaska R&C, App. Comm’n Dec. No. 088 at 22).  “Abuse of 
discretion is established if the [board] has not proceeded in the manner required by 
law, the order or decision is not supported by the findings, or the findings are not 
supported by the evidence.”  Manthey v. Collier, 367 P.2d 884, 888 n.12 (Alaska 1962).  
Had the regulation not gone into effect when it did, the nine-fold increase in the penalty 
rate would have constituted an abuse of discretion on the board’s part. 
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This is a final decision on the merits of this appeal as to the appeals commission’s 
affirmation of the board’s decision in part and reversal of the board’s decision in part.  
This is a non-final decision as to the appeals commission’s remand of the matter in part 
to the board.  The final decision portion of this decision becomes effective when 
distributed (mailed) unless proceedings to 1) reconsider the final decision portion are 
instituted (started), pursuant to AS 23.30.128(f) and 8 AAC 57.230, or 2) unless 
proceedings to appeal the final decision portion to the Alaska Supreme Court, pursuant 
to AS 23.30.129(a) are instituted.  See Reconsideration and Appeal Procedures sections 
below. 
The non-final portion of this decision becomes effective when distributed (mailed) 
unless proceedings to petition for review to the Alaska Supreme Court, pursuant to 
AS 23.30.129(a) and Rules of Appellate Procedure 401-403 are instituted.  See Petition 
for Review section below. 
To see the date of distribution look at the box below. 

RECONSIDERATION 

A party may request the commission to reconsider this decision as to the final decision 
portion by filing a motion for reconsideration.  AS 23.30.128(e) and 8 AAC 57.230.  The 
motion for reconsideration must be filed with the commission no later than 30 days 
after the day this decision is distributed (mailed) to the parties.  If a request for 
reconsideration of a final decision is filed on time with the commission, any proceedings 
to appeal must be instituted within 30 days after the reconsideration decision is mailed 
to the parties, or, if the commission does not issue an order for reconsideration, within 
60 days after the date this decision is mailed to the parties, whichever is earlier.  
AS 23.30.128(f). 

APPEAL PROCEDURES 
Appeal 

The commission’s final decision portion becomes effective when distributed unless 
proceedings to appeal to the Alaska Supreme Court are instituted (started).  
Proceedings to appeal this decision must be instituted (started) in the Alaska Supreme 
Court no later than 30 days after the date this final decision is distributed70 and be 

                                        
70  A party has 30 days after the service or distribution of a final decision of 

the commission to file an appeal with the supreme court.  If the commission’s decision 
was served by mail only to a party, then three days are added to the 30 days, pursuant 
to Rule of Appellate Procedure 502(c), which states: 

Additional Time After Service or Distribution by Mail.  
Whenever a party has the right or is required to act within a 
prescribed number of days after the service or distribution of a 
document, and the document is served or distributed by mail, three 
calendar days shall be added to the prescribed period.  However, 

             (footnote continued) 
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brought by a party-in-interest against all other parties to the proceedings before the 
commission, as provided by the Alaska Rules of Appellate Procedure.  See 
AS 23.30.129(a).  The appeals commission and the workers’ compensation board are 
not parties. 
You may wish to consider consulting with legal counsel before filing an appeal.  If you 
wish to appeal to the Alaska Supreme Court, you should contact the Alaska Appellate 
Courts immediately: 

Clerk of the Appellate Courts 
303 K Street 

Anchorage, AK 99501-2084 
Telephone:  907-264-0612 

More information is available on the Alaska Court System’s website: 
http://www.courts.alaska.gov/ 

Petition for Review 

A party may petition the Alaska Supreme Court for review of that portion of the 
commission’s decision that is non-final.  AS 23.30.129(a) and Rules of Appellate 
Procedure 401-403.  The petition for review must be filed with the Alaska Supreme 
Court no later than 10 days after the date this decision is distributed.71  
You may wish to consider consulting with legal counsel before filing a petition for 
review.  If you wish to petition the Alaska Supreme Court for review, you should contact 
the Alaska Appellate Courts immediately: 

Clerk of the Appellate Courts 
303 K Street 

Anchorage, AK 99501-2084 
Telephone:  907-264-0612 

More information is available on the Alaska Court System’s website: 
http://www.courts.alaska.gov/ 

  

                                                                                                                               
no additional time shall be added if a court order specifies a 
particular calendar date by which an act must occur. 

71  A party has 10 days after the service or distribution of a non-final decision 
of the commission to file a petition for review with the Alaska Supreme Court.  If the 
commission’s decision was served by mail only to a party, then three days are added to 
the 10 days, pursuant to Rule of Appellate Procedure 502(c). See n.70 for Rule of 
Appellate Procedure 502(c). 

http://www.courts.alaska.gov/
http://www.courts.alaska.gov/


 21 Decision No. 159 

I certify that this is a full and correct copy of the Final Decision No. 159 issued in the 
matter of Anchorage Midtown Motel, Inc. v. State of Alaska, Division of Workers’ 
Compensation, AWCAC Appeal No. 11-002, and distributed by the office of the Alaska 
Workers' Compensation Appeals Commission in Anchorage, Alaska, on February 14, 2012. 

Date: February 21, 2012 
 
 
 

 
 
                        Signed  

B. Ward, Appeals Commission Clerk 
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