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Governor Walker Restores Alaska Hire Requirements 

Determination will require 90% Alaska Hire on public projects 

June 10 , 2015 ANCHORAGE—Governor Bill Walker and Department of Labor and Workforce 

Development Commissioner Heidi Drygas announced today that they will be restoring 

statewide Alaska Hire standards for publicly-funded infrastructure projects through a 

Department of Labor and Workforce Development “Zone of Underemployment” determination.  

Effective July 1, 2015, this determination will ensure that at least 90% of jobs on public projects, 

such as road construction, are awarded to Alaskans.  

“Alaskans know how to build infrastructure, and state funding for public projects should employ 

Alaskans first,” Governor Walker said.  “With this Alaska Hire determination, we are restoring a 

long-standing, non-partisan policy that puts Alaskans to work on important infrastructure 

projects.” 

A series of Independent, Republican, and Democratic governors established and maintained 

Alaska Hire requirements for public projects until the program was terminated in 2013. The 

Alaska Legislature established clear standards under which Alaska Hire requirements must 

apply in Alaska Statutes 36.10.140 and 36.10.150.  The Alaska Department of Labor and 

Workforce Development’s Research & Analysis Section economic data reveals that Alaska 

currently meets those conditions.   

Alaska Hire requirements apply to a wide range of occupations such as equipment operators, 

surveyors, truck drivers, welders, laborers, mechanics, engineers and architects.  If contractors 

are unable to locate Alaskans who are trained to complete a job, they must obtain a waiver 

before hiring non-residents. Workers or contractors with questions about Alaska Hire 

requirements should contact the Department of Labor and Workforce Development’s Wage 

and Hour office at (907) 269-4900. 

 

The Zone of Underemployment determination is enclosed.  Past Alaska Hire determinations 

from previous administrations are available upon request. 
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STATE OF ALASKA 
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR & WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT 

ALASKA EMPLOYMENT PREFERENCE INFORMATION 

 
By authority of A.S. 36.10.150 and 8 AAC 30.064, the Commissioner of Labor and Workforce Development has 
determined the State of Alaska to be a Zone of Underemployment. A Zone of Underemployment requires that 
Alaska residents who are eligible under AS 36.10.140 be given a minimum of 90 percent employment preference 
on public works contracts throughout the state in certain job classifications. This 90 percent Alaska resident 
hiring preference applies on a project-by-project, craft-by-craft or occupational basis and must be met 
each workweek by each contractor/subcontractor in each of the following classifications: 
 
Boilermakers Electricians Laborers  Roofers 

Bricklayers 
Carpenters 

Engineers and Architects 
Equipment Operators 

Mechanics  
Millwrights 

Sheet Metal Workers 
Surveyors 

Cement Masons 
Culinary Workers 

Foremen & Supervisors 
Insulation Workers 

Painters 
Piledriving Occupations 

Truck Drivers 
Tug Boat Workers 

 Ironworkers Plumbers & Pipefitters Welders 

    
This determination became effective July 1, 2015, and remains in effect through June 30, 2017.  This 
determination will be applied to projects with a bid submission deadline on or after July 1, 2015 and to projects 
previously covered by the 2013 Alaska employment preference determination.  This will afford contractors an 
opportunity to consider the impacts of Alaska resident hire in their bids. 
 
The first person on a certified payroll in any classification is called the "first worker" and is not required to be an 
Alaskan resident. However, once the contractor adds any more workers in the classification, then all workers in 
the classification are counted, and the 90 percent calculation is applied to compute the number of required 
Alaskans to be in compliance. To compute the number of Alaskan residents required in a workweek in a 
particular classification, multiply the total number of workers in the classification by 90 percent. The result is then 
rounded down to the nearest whole number to determine the number of Alaskans that must be employed in that 
classification. 
 
If a worker works in more than one classification during a week, the classification in which they spent the most 
time would be counted for employment preference purposes. If the time is split evenly between two 
classifications, the worker is counted in both classifications. 
 
If you have difficulty meeting the 90 percent requirement, an approved waiver must be obtained before a 
non-Alaska resident is hired who would put the contractor/subcontractor out of compliance (8 AAC 30.081 (e) (f)).  
The waiver process requires proof of an adequate search for qualified Alaskan workers. Qualified Alaska 
residents identified through the search must be hired before waivers for non-resident workers may be granted.  
To apply for a waiver, contact the nearest Wage and Hour Office for instructions. 
 
Here is an example to apply the 90 percent requirement to four boilermaker workers. Multiply four workers by 
90% and drop the fraction (.90 X 4 = 3.6 - .6 = 3). The remaining number is the number of Alaskan resident 
boilermakers required to be in compliance in that particular classification for that week. 
 
The penalties for being out of compliance are serious.  AS 36.10.100 (a) states "A contractor who violates a 
provision of this chapter shall have deducted from amounts due to the contractor under the contract the 
prevailing wages which should have been paid to a displaced resident and these amounts shall be retained by 
the contracting agency." If a contractor/subcontractor is found to be out of compliance, penalties accumulate until 
they come into compliance. 
 
Contractors are responsible for determining residency status. If you have difficulty determining whether a worker 
is an Alaska resident, you should contact the nearest Wage and Hour Office.  Contact Wage and Hour in 
Anchorage at (907) 269-4900, in Fairbanks at (907) 451-2886, or in Juneau at (907) 465-4842. 


