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JUNEAU CENTRAL OFFICE 
1111 W. Eighth St., Room 203 
P.O. Box 115509 
Juneau, AK 99811-5509 
(907) 465-2757 
Toll Free: (888) 448-3527 
Fax: (907) 465-2374
E-mail: esd_tax@labor.state.ak.us
TDD - Relay Alaska Operator
   (800) 770-8973 

 
UI TAX OFFICES 
UI Tax Representative 
Toll Free: (888) 448-2937 
 

Anchorage UI Tax 
3301 Eagle St., Room 106 
P.O. Box 241767
Anchorage, AK 99524-1767 
(907) 269-4850 
Fax: (907) 269-4845 
 

Fairbanks UI Tax 
675 7th Ave. 
Station L, Fairbanks, AK 
99701-4595 
(907) 451-2876 
Fax: (907) 451-2883 
 

Juneau UI Tax 
1111 W. Eighth St., Room 203 
P.O. Box 115509 
Juneau, AK 99811-5509 
(907) 465-2787 
Fax: (907) 465-2374 
 

Kenai UI Tax 
11312 Kenai Spur Highway, 
Suite 2, Kenai, AK 	
99611-9106 
(907) 283-2920	
Fax: (907) 283-5152
 

Wasilla UI Tax 
877 Commercial Drive 
Wasilla, AK 99654-6937 
(907) 352-2535
Fax: (907) 352-2581
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Alaska Employer
 Unemp l o ymen t  I n s u r a n c e  T a x

How are your tax rates 
calculated?
Alaska has three classes of employers in its experience rating system.

Experience-rated firms are those employers who qualify for 
experience rating because they:

•	 have been subject to the Alaska Employment Security Act 	
for four or more quarters;

•	 filed all quarterly tax reports; 
•	 and hold outstanding balances for contributions, interest and 
penalties that total less than $100.

Industry-rated firms are those employers who do not have the 
wage history to qualify for experience rating and are assigned an industry 
average tax rate.

Penalty-rated firms are those employers who are delinquent in filing 
quarterly reports and paying contributions, interest or penalties due; and 
are assigned the maximum penalty tax rate.

Alaska’s rate system is based on quarterly wage declines. A decline 
in quarterly wages exists when the amount of total wages you report 
reflects a decrease from one quarter to the next.

For rate purposes, a quarterly decline quotient is calculated, which is 
the percentage of the decrease in wages between quarters. All of your 
quarterly decline quotients for qualifying quarters are added together, 
and this total is averaged. The experience rate you are assigned is based 
on the average of all your quarterly decline quotients.

Employee advances — when 
are they reportable?
Payroll advances made to employees are reportable by the employer in 
the calendar quarter in which they are paid, not when they are deducted 
from a subsequent payroll.



We are an equal opportunity employer/program.
Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. 
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For example, let’s say an employee is paid an advance of $100 on Sept. 20 and the $100 advance 
is later deducted from the employee’s gross wages for payroll issued on Oct. 1. The $100 advance 
should be included in the “Total Reportable Wages” for the third quarter not the fourth quarter. The 
balance of the gross wages would be reported on the fourth quarter report.  

All remuneration for service is to be reported in the quarter in which payment is issued. 
 

Save time and money —  
file electronically!
Login process:
•	 Log in at labor.alaska.gov/estax.
•	 Select “Online Employer Services.”
•	 You will be routed to the myAlaska login page.
•	 Select and complete myAlaska information.
•	 Select “Employment Security Tax.”
•	 Select particular service.

Services provided online:
•	 File your quarterly reports
•	 Electronic Fund Transfer of ES Tax Payments

•	Pre-note is required for first-time users to 	
verify banking information

•	Bank account and routing information required
•	 View balance and payments

•	 First-time users will see a delay from pending 	
to completed status

•	 Registration of a new business
•	 Close account
•	 Change contact information on tax account
•	 Update corporate officer information

Sample Alaska quarterly contribution report
On the following page is a sample of the Alaska Quarterly Contribution Report form, which highlights 
areas on the report where errors are commonly found. Please take a moment to review the sample 
report to help ensure accuracy when completing this form.



3.

Alaska	Quarterly	Contribution	Report
				THE	2011 TAXABLE	WAGE	BASE	FOR	EACH	EMPLOYEE	IS	$	______

Quarter Ending:  12/31/2010                                                 Due Date:   1/31/2011 Employer Account No:  00919191

FEIN: 12-3456789

What’s That Corporation
9999 Brothers Avenue
Juneau, AK 99801

1.		For	each	month,	report	the	number	
of	workers	who worked	during	or	
received	pay	for	the	payroll	period,	
which	includes	the	12th of	the	month.

							If	None	enter	"0"

1st

Month
2nd

Month
3rd

Month

1 1 1

2.		Total	Reportable wages	paid	this	
quarter.		(See	Instructions,	page	2) $ 34,300.00

AGENCY USE ONLY 3.		Less	excess	wages	over	the	taxable	
wage	base. ($    200.00 )

4.		Taxable	wages	paid	this	quarter. $ 34,100.00

A report must be filed even if no wages are 
paid for the quarter.

You may now file your quarterly contribution 
report on-line.  Please visit our web site located at 
www.labor.state.ak.us/estax or call 
1-888-448-3527. To amend your quarterly report, 
please submit a “Correction of Wage Item”, Form 
TADJ also available on-line.

Notice	to	Employers:	Wage	information	and	other	
confidential	UC	information	may	be	requested	and	
util ized	for	other	authorized	governmental	purposes,	
including,	but	not	lim ited	to,	verification	of	an	
individual’s	eligibility	for	other	government	programs.

              FOLD IN HALF                                          NO CHECK STUBS PLEASE                                                        

																																											Employer's	Rate

5.		Employer's	Contribution							1.00						%
$ 341.00

6.		Employee's	Contribution

Employee's	
Rate

				.50					%

$ 170.50

7.		Total	Contributions	Due
Total	Rate

1.50					%				

$ 511.50

8.		Amount	Remitted $ 511.50

9.				Wages	Reported	to	other	states?	See
							instructions	explaining	this	on	page	2.

Yes

                        
                     FOLD IN HALF                                     NO CHECKSTUBS PLEASE

WAGE SCHEDULE                                                                                              *  See Area Map for Geographic Location Codes
    10.  Employee's  
          Social Security 
          Number 

  11.  Employee's Name - Type or Print  
    (Do not list employees more than once.)  
   Last                        First                 MI          

12.  Reportable wages 
       paid this quarter. 
  (No negative wages) 

13.  Full            
Occupational 
Title or Code 

14.   
Geographic 
Code * 

S 
T 
A  
P 
L    
E    
     
C   
H 
E 
C 
K 
S 
 
H 
E 
R 
E 
 
 

574-99-2222 Smith,	Jennifer $34,300.00 999999 76

     

 No	wages	this	quarter    

     

     

     
     
     

     

     
     
 
 Make checks payable to the 

Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development 
If you have any questions, 
call toll free 1-888-448-3527 

 15. Total Number of Pages 
                
           1 

16. Total Reportable Wages - All Pages 
(Same Total as in Block 2 above.) 

 $34,300              

I hereby certify that the information on this report is true and correct.  
 
Signed:  ________________________________________________  Title:  ________________________________  Date:  ________________ 
Printed Name:           Contact Telephone Number:  (          ) 

Alaska Department of Labor & Workforce Development, Employment Security Tax, PO Box 115506, Juneau, AK 99811-5506      
                  TQ01C  (11/09) 

Qtr	End	Dates:	Mar	31,	
June	30,	Sept	30,	Dec	31

FEIN,	
Name	and	
Address

Taxable	Wages	
(Reimbursable	
accounts	should	be	
zero	excess	and	
zero	taxable)

Excess	Wages
Per	employee	
over	wage	base	

Make	sure	
amount	
matches	
check(s)

______________	20__

PAY	TO	THE
ORDER	OF:

Employment	Security	Tax,	State	of	Alaska,	Dept.	of	Labor______ $	511.50

_____________________________________________________ DOLLARS

AUTHORIZED	SIGNATURE

FOR_________________________ ___________________________________

Staple	
Check	Here

Only	for	“Zero”	
Wages	Report

Total	reportable	wages	
paid	this	quarter

Alaska	Employer	
account	number



Mandatory state posters
Several state and federal employment related information posters, which may be required to be posted at 
worksites, can be downloaded or ordered at no charge from the Division of Labor Standards and Safety. 
Log on to www.labor.alaska.gov/lss/posters.htm to see what is available.

Required posters must be visible in worksite locations and readily 	
accessible to employees. 
 

Report your new-hires
Unemployment Insurance (UI) fraud is a billion dollar industry costing 
you, the employer, higher than necessary tax rates. Help detect and 
prevent UI fraud by completing the “Alaska New Hire Report.”

Those who appear on the New Hire Report while receiving UI benefits, 
and who fail to report the income, are selected for review to determine 
if they were overpaid UI benefits. It is very important that you fill in 
the “Date of Hire” when completing the New Hire Report. The “Date 
of Hire” should be the most recent date this individual began work, or 
returned to work after a break. 

Providing this information enables the Alaska Department of Labor and 
Workforce Development to put a stop to UI fraud and theft of benefits.

Unemployment Insurance 
overpayments
The department continues to improve its detection of 
Unemployment Insurance overpayments. This is due 
in large part to the cooperation of the employer 
community in responding to the Wage Audit 	
Notices the department sends out. By completing 
and returning the Wage Audit Notice, employers 
help keep the UI Trust Fund healthy and 
employer tax rates lower.
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We are an equal opportunity employer/program.
Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. 


