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Questions about
your account or
contributions?

CONTACTS

Juneau Central Office
P.O. Box 115509

Juneau, AK 99811-5509
Phone: (907) 465-2757

Toll free: (888) 448-3527
Fax: (907) 465-2374
Email: ESD.Tax@Alaska.Gov
Relay Alaska: (800) 770-8973

UI TAX OFFICES

Anchorage

P.O. Box 241767
Anchorage, AK 99524-1767
Phone: (907) 269-4850
Fax: (907) 269-4845

Fairbanks

675 7th Ave., Station L
Fairbanks, AK 99701-4595
Phone: (907) 451-2876
Fax: (907) 451-2883

Juneau

P.O. Box 115509
Juneau, AK 99811-5509
Phone: (907) 465-2787
Fax: (907) 465-2374

Kenai

145 Main Street Loop,
Suite 143, Kenai, AK 99611
Phone: (907) 283-0350
Fax: (907) 283-5152

Wasilla

877 Commercial Drive
Wasilla, AK 99654-6937
Phone: (907) 352-2535
Fax: (907) 352-2581

UI Tax Representative
Toll free: (888) 448-2937

File Your Zero Reports Early

If you are a seasonal employer who traditionally files “zero” reports for
quarters your business is closed for the season (quarters where no wages
were paid), why not make those reports part of your closing ritual? Mail
zero reports to us when you close for the season and we will post them
on the appropriate quarter due date. Currently, the Employment Security
Tax Online System does not provide for future reporting however, you
may file your reports early on paper and send them to us through
the mail. The Alaska Quarterly Contribution Report can be located

online at labor.alaska.gov/estax/forms/toc forms.htm.

Penalty Rate Prevention

This year, 227 Alaska employers received a Penalty rate.
Experience rates for employers in 2015 span from one percent

to 2.45 percent, with a taxable wage base of $38,700. Most
Experience rated Alaska employers will pay no more than $948.15
per employee. The 227 Penalty rated employers are taxed at

5.4 percent and therefore pay more than twice the amount per
employee than the highest rate for an Experience rated employer.

Penalty rates are expensive and preventable!

For your business to receive an Experience rate instead of a Penalty
rate: ensure all of the quarterly contribution reports are submitted and
there are no outstanding dues for contributions, penalties and interest
on your or your predecessor account(s). If you have questions, call.

Alaska Unemployment Insurance to
Introduce SIDES in November 2015

Are you interested in freeing your business from paper UI benefit forms?
We now have a solution! Developed through a partnership between
USDOL and the state Unemployment Insurance (UI) agency, the State
Information Data Exchange System (SIDES) and SIDES E-Response
offers employers nationally standardized electronic forms to
efficiently and accurately respond to UI benefit information requests.
SIDES is free of charge, secure, ensures accurate exchanges, and
reduces administrative costs, saving your business TIME and MONEY!
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If interested, contact the UI Technical Unit at jnu.uitech@alaska.gov for more information.

Reduce Your 2016 Tax Rate

The annual process of determining employer tax rates for calendar year 2016 will begin
soon. Employer tax rates are calculated using quarterly payroll information ending with
June 30 each year (using a maximum of 12 quarters). As an employer, there are things
YOU can do to ensure you receive the lowest tax rate possible. Factors that may
unfavorably affect your tax rate include:

e a balance due on your account,
e missing reports for any quarter and
e a balance due or missing reports on your predecessor’s account.

Contact any of the offices listed in this newsletter. Our staff can:

e establish deferred payment contracts,

e advise you of rate-lowering options,

e assist you in the completion of our forms and

e confirm contributions and reports are posted correctly to your account or to your
predecessor’s account.

Successor Employer Responsibilities

A successor is an employer who acquires a substantial portion of the operating assets of
an organization, trade or business. Assets can include employees, equipment, contracts,
clients, and more. To ensure the predecessor’s debt is paid in full, Alaska Statute 23.20.260
requires the successor take the following actions:

e The successor must register the business.

e The successor should withhold enough purchase money to cover the amount of taxes
due or request a tax clearance.

e The successor should consider the wages paid by the predecessor when computing
taxable wages for the remainder of the calendar year in which the business was
acquired. If the successor does not take into consideration the predecessor’s
wages when calculating the employee’s portion of the UI Tax, the successor will be
responsible for refunding the employee any amount totaling over $220.59 collected
from the employee by the predecessor and successor for 2015.

For additional information on successor/predecessor responsibilities, contact your local field
tax office listed in this newsletter.

Quarterly reports and payments
are due by Oct. 31.

We are an equal opportunity employer/program.
Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.
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