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Case:  George Miller Construction, Inc. and Alaska National Insurance Company vs. 
Harborview Medical Center and Lee L. Lawless, Alaska Workers’ Comp. App. Comm’n 
Dec. No. 156 (October 4, 2011) 

Facts:  Lee Lawless (Lawless) injured his ankle working for George Miller Construction, 
Inc.  When he developed necrotizing fasciitis, a life-threatening complication, he was 
transferred to Harborview Medical Center (Harborview) for more than 76 days of 
hospitalization.  The employer’s insurer, Alaska National Insurance Company (Alaska 
National), and Harborview disputed how much was owed for these medical services.  
Under the Alaska fee schedule with a geography adjustment factor applied, the medical 
services would total $637,982.52.  Harborview’s charge for the services Lawless 
received, when provided to the general public, total $442,201.58.  Under the 
Washington fee schedule, for workers’ compensation claims arising in Washington, the 
Percentage of Allowable Charge (POAC) rate is applied to the bill; for Harborview the 
rate is 54.9 percent. 

Harborview charged Alaska National $442,201.58.  Alaska National applied the 
Washington POAC to this amount and paid only $242,768.67.  Harborview sought the 
remainder of the bill and the board agreed it was owed.  Alaska National appeals. 

Issue:  Which fee schedule applies to the medical services provided by Harborview? 

Applicable law:  In 2006, AS 23.30.097(a) read: 

All fees and other charges for medical treatment or service are subject to 
regulation by the board consistent with this section. A  fee or other charge 
for medical treatment or service may not exceed the lesser of 

   (1) the usual, customary, and reasonable fees for the treatment or 
service in the community in which it is rendered, not to exceed the fees in 
the fee schedule specified by the board in its published bulletin dated 
December 1, 2004; 

   (2) the fee or charge for the service when provided to the general 
public; or  

   (3) the fee or charge negotiated by the provider and the employer 
under (c) of this section. 

8 AAC 45.082(i) stated that the fee due a medical provider is the lower of:  1) the 
provider’s actual fee, or 2) the provider’s usual, customary, and reasonable fee, as 
determined under the regulation. 

Holding/analysis:  The commission affirmed the board, concluding Harborview was 
owed the remainder of what it had originally billed Alaska National.  Alaska National 
argued the Washington fee schedule applied because AS 23.30.097(a)(1) meant the 
usual, customary, and reasonable fees paid for injured workers in the community in 
which it is rendered or the Alaska fee schedule.  The commission rejected Alaska 
National’s argument because each subsection sets out one alternative, so sub-
subsection (1) provides for only one alternative; and because the argument was 
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contrary to the plain language of sub-subsection .097(a)(1).  “Nowhere does the 
language in sub-subsection .097(a)(1) suggest that another fee schedule is applicable.”  
Dec. No. 156 at 14.  The commission found no legislative intent contrary to this plain 
meaning.  The commission rejected Alaska National’s argument that sub-subsection 
.097(a) should be interpreted in this way in order to help keep premiums low since one 
goal of the 2005 amendments was to keep premiums affordable.  The commission 
concluded that it could not stretch the statutory language to incorporate the use of 
another state’s fee structure, schedule, or limitation. 

Second, Alaska National argued that sub-subsection .097(a)(2) should be interpreted as 
differentiating between charges billed and fees received by a provider.  According to 
this interpretation of the statute, while Harborview billed $442,201.58 in charges, it 
received $242,768.67, the permissible fee.  The commission rejected a distinction 
between “fee” and “charge,” concluding that they were similar words meant to refer to 
provider payment. 

Third, Alaska National argued that the regulation was invalid because it was 
inconsistent with the statute since it did not make the distinction between fees and 
charges.  The commission rejected this argument since the commission did not 
distinguish between fees and charges.  The commission also observed that the 
regulation was inconsistent because it left out the negotiated fee or charge alternative 
but that this inconsistency was not relevant to the appeal and in any event, the statute 
would control over any inconsistencies in a regulation. 

Note:  This case was appealed to the Alaska Supreme Court but the appeal was 
dismissed. 


